Transforming Salad

20131101-073945.jpg

I sat looking at a box of leftover salad, mainly Belgian endive (chicon) with a little carrot and cucumber and some sweetcorn. I was enjoying a meal with a friend but plain chicon was not doing it for me.

So I jumped up and grabbed what I think of as my staple condiments – toasted sesame oil, brown rice vinegar, soy sauce, chilli and furikake (a mix of sesame and seaweed). I seasoned, threw on some more nori flakes and my salad was transformed.

These are ingredients you can find in most big supermarkets and if not, at a health food store or Asian supermarket. The chilli I used was a mix including dried mandarin peel which gives it a lovely tang but regular chilli flakes or even a shake of red pepper sauce like Tabasco would do it.

Not only does this seasoning transform salad but I felt transformed afterwards too!

Leave a Reply

