Scottish Rice Porridge With Chia

I’m allergic to oats so I can’t make the real Scottish porridge with finely-ground oatmeal. This rice porridge is very similar. I use organic ground rice (harina) from Bob’s Red Mill. I bring it back from the US.

I added chia seeds and pink Himalayan salt and threw it in the rice cooker with double the water.

I had to stir partway through with a silicone spatula as it was sticking to the bottom but in hot weather, I prefer to use the rice cooker than slave over a hot stove.

The chia gives a nice crunch.

20140723-100424-36264521.jpg

20140723-100423-36263058.jpg

Leave a Reply

