Easy Dal

I had a comfort food craving on a bright winter’s day and this was the answer. I took some serious shortcuts but still got a good result.

In a saucepan, I put a little oil and fried gently a big spoon of grated ginger (from a jar) and two big spoons of curry paste for a couple of minutes. I used madras curry paste but anything would do.

Once the pastes were combined and fragrant, I added a 500g/1lb bag of mung dal. These are tiny split lentils that do not need to be pre-soaked. A kettle of boiling water went in and I simmered gently with a lid on for an hour or so, adding more water and stirring as needed.

Delicious as is and easily spruced up more with some coriander (cilantro), a dollop of butter or ghee or some thick Greek yoghurt with salt and cucumber. I can eat this morning, noon and night. The ultimate comfort food… 

   

Leave a Reply

